Meta Force Space
BTC $77,333.00 -1.11% ETH $2,468.96 -0.24% SOL $99.92 -1.71% XRP $1.36 -1.95% BNB $715.53 -0.43% DOGE $0.0841 -1.64%
← Back to the news

Coinbase targets 1,000 banks with Moov stablecoin deal

Coinbase has partnered with Moov to connect more than 1,000 U.S. community banks and credit unions with stablecoin payments, custody, merchant settlement and real-time funding.

Summary
  • Coinbase and Moov will offer stablecoin acceptance, settlement and real-time funding through existing banking systems.
  • Moov serves more than 1,000 community banks and credit unions across the United States today.
  • Coinbase will provide custodial wallets and payment APIs while Moov handles institutional integrations directly nationwide.
  • Supported uses include consumer payments, merchant acceptance, settlements, payouts and continuous business funding services nationwide.
  • Federal Reserve supervision covers qualifying state member institutions holding less than $10B in assets generally.

Coinbase’s Sept. 10 announcement said Moov will integrate its stablecoin infrastructure into the payment systems already offered to financial institutions. The companies did not give a commercial launch date or identify the first participating banks.

Moov provides card acquiring, card issuing and real-time payment connections to its institutional customers. Through the partnership, banks will be able to offer stablecoin services without constructing and maintaining their own blockchain systems.

Coinbase will supply the digital asset custody and payment tools. Moov will connect them with the systems used by its community bank and credit union customers.

Coinbase stablecoin services will run inside Moov

Moov plans to use Coinbase Developer Platform Custodial Wallet accounts to hold funds. Coinbase’s Payments API will coordinate stablecoin transfers, allowing Moov to place the blockchain functions inside its existing payment product.

The companies identified consumer payments, merchant acceptance, merchant settlement and payouts as initial applications. Business and merchant transactions will use Coinbase custodial accounts with disclosed ownership, according to the release.

Banks benefit from crypto.

We're partnering with @Moov to provide small and community banks the infrastructure for stablecoins.

That means acceptance, settlement, and real-time funding for more than 1000 of them, through the tech stacks they already use.

This is what regulated… pic.twitter.com/sS8NNIVZBF

— Coinbase 🛡️ (@coinbase) September 10, 2026

Neither company named the stablecoins or blockchain networks that the integration will support. Coinbase’s developer platform offers access to USDC and custom stablecoin products, but the announcement did not confirm which assets Moov’s customers will receive.

Details covering transaction fees, conversion charges, redemption, insurance treatment and user eligibility remain undisclosed. The partners did not say whether financial institutions would hold stablecoins directly or provide customers with balances backed by assets held in Coinbase custody.

Ryan VanGrack, Coinbase vice chair and head of corporate affairs, said community financial institutions have watched customers use digital assets for years. Through Moov, Coinbase plans to place its infrastructure “right into their existing systems,” he said.

Moov CEO Wade Arnold said business customers already receive requests to accept stablecoins and often leave their primary financial institution to obtain the service. He described acceptance and disbursement as the immediate products, with continuous funding presented as a possible later use.

Community banks keep control of customer services

Moov will serve as the connection between Coinbase and participating institutions. Banks and credit unions can continue managing their customer accounts and local relationships while using third-party infrastructure for blockchain custody and payments.

The partnership does not turn participating banks into stablecoin issuers. Coinbase described the arrangement as a way for institutions to offer payment and custody services, while no announcement was made about a community bank creating its own dollar-backed token.

Citizens Bank of Edmond Chairman and CEO Jill Castilla said small businesses are seeking lower interchange costs and faster access to payments. The Oklahoma bank was quoted in the announcement, though Coinbase and Moov did not confirm that it will become an initial customer of the stablecoin service.

Under the Federal Reserve’s definition, its community bank program covers domestic state member banks, bank holding companies and savings and loan holding companies with less than $10 billion in total assets. Other agencies supervise community institutions operating under different charters.

Federal Reserve examinations usually take place every 12 months, with some eligible banks examined every 18 months depending on size, condition and other factors. Supervisors tailor reviews using each institution’s risk profile, activities and operational complexity.

Coinbase and Moov did not describe how participating institutions will divide compliance duties involving customer identification, transaction monitoring, sanctions screening or suspicious-activity reporting. Each bank will remain subject to its applicable federal and state obligations.

U.S. banks are testing several stablecoin models

Large banks are pursuing stablecoin projects through structures that differ from Coinbase and Moov’s service-provider model. U.S. Bank disclosed a live cross-border test on Sept. 9 involving USBDC, its proprietary dollar-backed token.

As crypto.news reported, U.S. Bank transferred USBDC between North American and European entities on the Stellar public blockchain. Its pilot tested minting, redemption, freezing and clawback functions while maintaining links with the bank’s finance, risk and compliance systems.

U.S. Bank did not make USBDC available to customers or external institutions. The bank released a Stellar issuer address but withheld the payment amount, transaction hash, reserve structure and public rollout timetable.

Coinbase and Moov are proposing shared infrastructure that can serve many institutions. Their plan centers on payment acceptance and custody through Coinbase instead of asking every participating bank to create a separate token and issuance platform.

Banking technology providers are forming other institutional networks around tokenized deposits and digital assets. In related coverage, crypto.news reported that Cosmos formed a 17-member banking infrastructure network with participants including BitGo, Galaxy and OpenZeppelin.

The Coinbase partnership does not state whether Moov’s banks will work with tokenized deposits, which represent bank liabilities on blockchain infrastructure. Its announced scope covers stablecoins, custodial accounts and payment movement.

Stablecoin rules set requirements for bank participation

The GENIUS Act created a federal framework for payment stablecoins in July 2025. As detailed in crypto.news coverage of stablecoin issuer licensing and reserve requirements, the law restricts issuance to permitted entities and requires one-to-one backing with qualifying liquid assets.

Bank subsidiaries may issue payment stablecoins under the supervision of their federal banking regulator. State-qualified issuers can operate through certified state regimes, while nonbank firms may seek federal approval from the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency.

Payment service providers remain subject to anti-money-laundering and sanctions requirements regardless of whether they issue tokens. Stablecoins are not automatically covered by federal deposit insurance, even when their reserves include deposits held at an insured bank.

For the Coinbase-Moov arrangement, the applicable responsibilities will depend on the asset used, the custody structure and the services offered by each institution. The companies have not published contracts explaining how losses, frozen transactions, redemption requests or operational failures would be handled.

Coinbase describes its digital asset infrastructure as regulated, but the announcement does not name the Coinbase legal entity that will hold each category of customer or merchant funds. It refers to “fully disclosed custodial accounts” for business and merchant payments without publishing the account terms.

Coinbase and Moov have not set a public rollout date

Implementation will require Moov to integrate Coinbase’s wallet and payment interfaces before individual banks can offer the services. Each participating institution may need internal approval, compliance testing and vendor-risk reviews based on its regulator and operating model.

No bank has announced a customer launch through the partnership. Coinbase and Moov have not disclosed pilot participants, supported payment corridors, minimum transaction amounts or settlement currencies.

Future functions described by the companies remain plans. Coinbase said acceptance, settlement and real-time funding are starting areas, while later work could connect digital assets with other products offered by community institutions.

Moov said continuous funding could let institutions move value during weekends and holidays. The company has not released performance results showing settlement times, transaction capacity or costs for the planned service.

Coinbase and Moov have not provided a deadline for completing the technical integration or opening stablecoin services to the first community bank customers.

Originally published by crypto.news on

Read the original on crypto.news ↗

Text and images are the property of crypto.news and are reproduced here with attribution and a link to the original publication.

More stories

All the latest news